THE EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR PHILOSOPHY OF MEDICINE AND HEALTH CARE



Institute of Ethics Dublin City University

School of Theology, Philosophy, and Music; All Hallows Campus, Senior House, Drumcondra, D09N920 Dublin, Ireland

Professor Bert Gordijn Director

Dublin, 4 June 2022

Dear colleagues,

It is a pleasure to update you on the forthcoming 34th European Conference on Philosophy of Medicine and Health Care, scheduled to take place in Warsaw, Poland, August 24 – 27, 2022. Please find an updated draft version of the programme on the Society's homepage (see <u>www.espmh.org</u>). This programme lists all the abstracts that have been accepted for presentation.

I would like to remind speakers who have not yet registered, to do so online asap (for registration see <u>here</u>.) Persons who have not registered by June 30th will have their names removed from the final programme.

With this, we hope to avoid gaps in the actual conference sessions.

ESPMH General Assembly

On behalf of the ESPMH Board, I would also like to invite you to attend the General Assembly of our Society, which will take place in Warsaw on Friday 26 August 2022 (17.00-18.00 hrs). Please find a (draft-) agenda in the attachment.

ESPMH Election

In an earlier letter (from 4 January 2022) we invited you to nominate candidates for four positions in the Board of the ESPMH. By the end of 2022 the current term of Gerrit Kimsma as treasurer of the ESPMH will come to an end. Also the term of office of one Regular Board Member, Eugenijus Gefenas, will end on December 31 of this year.

Moreover, the members present at the General Assembly in Oslo (2019) agreed that the number of board members be increased from 9 to 11 (as the workload of the board has grown). Hence, we will have to elect a new treasurer and three new board members in Warsaw.

Since the invitation to propose candidates for these four positions, we have received four nominations for the position of Regular Board Member: Johanna Ahola-Launonen, Ivars Neiders, Joanna Rozynska, and Shlomit Zuckerman. Moreover, both Eugenijus Gefenas and Gerrit Kimsma have indicated that they would be willing to serve another term in their respective positions i.e., Treasurer and Regular Board Member if re-elected,

Thus, the Board's election proposal is as follows:

Treasurer: Gerrit Kimsma

Regular member 1:

Johanna Ahola-Launonen, Eugenijus Gefenas, Ivars Neiders, Joanna Rozynska, & Shlomit Zuckerman

Regular member 2:

Johanna Ahola-Launonen, Eugenijus Gefenas, Ivars Neiders, Joanna Rozynska, & Shlomit Zuckerman

Regular member 3:

Johanna Ahola-Launonen, Eugenijus Gefenas, Ivars Neiders, Joanna Rozynska, & Shlomit Zuckerman

If the winner of the election for position 1 also receives most votes in the election for the post of position 2, this position will then go to the candidate with the second most votes. If one of the winners (or both winners) of the elections for the first two positions has most votes for position 3, this position will go to the person with the second (or third most) votes.

ESPMH members attending the General Assembly in Warsaw can vote in person. Members who are unable to attend the meeting but still care to vote, should contact the ESPMH Secretariat asap by email to request postal ballots. These ballots should be returned to the Secretariat **by June 30** or alternatively handed in (via an attending colleague) to the Secretary at the Warsaw conference before the start of the General Assembly.

Bio-sketches of the candidates are attached to this letter (and uploaded on the society's homepage at <u>https://www.espmh.org/our-board/</u>).

On behalf of the Board,

Bert Gordijn Secretary of the ESPMH