THE EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR PHILOSOPHY OF MEDICINE AND HEALTH CARE



Institute of Ethics Dublin City University

School of Theology, Philosophy, and Music; All Hallows Campus, Senior House, Drumcondra, D09N920 Dublin, Ireland

Professor Bert Gordijn Director

Dublin, 8th July 2024

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to update you on the forthcoming 36th European Conference on Philosophy of Medicine and Health Care, scheduled to take place in Frankfurt Offenbach, Germany, from August 21 - 24, 2024. An updated draft of the program, which includes all accepted abstracts for presentation, is available on the Society's homepage (see www.espmh.org).

ESPMH General Assembly

On behalf of the ESPMH Board, I would like to extend an invitation to attend the General Assembly of our Society, scheduled to take place in Frankfurt Offenbach on Friday, August 23rd, 2024 (from 16:30 to 17:30hrs). Please find a draft agenda attached for your reference.

ESPMH Election

In a previous letter dated December 17, 2023, we invited you to nominate candidates for four positions on the Board of the ESPMH. The three-year terms of five Board members will conclude by the end of 2024: Péter Kakuk, Ana Borovecki, Luciana Caenazzo, Ignaas Devisch, and Frida Simonstein. As per the By-Laws, Ana Borovecki, currently President-elect, will succeed Péter Kakuk as President of the ESPMH. Therefore, during the General Assembly in Frankfurt Offenbach, four board positions will be open for election: the position of President-elect and three positions of Regular Board member.

In response to the invitation to propose candidates for these four positions, we have not received any nominations for the positions of Regular Board member. However, Péter Kakuk, Luciana Caenazzo, and Frida Simonstein have all expressed their willingness to serve another term as Regular Board members of the society. For the position of President-elect, we have received two nominations: Ignaas Devisch and Stephan Sahm.

THE EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR PHILOSOPHY OF MEDICINE AND HEALTH CARE

Thus, the Board's election proposal is as follows:

Regular Member of the Board: Luciana Caenazzo, Péter Kakuk, Frida Simonstein

According to the by-laws concerning the election procedure, a candidate can be elected without ballots if there is only one candidate for a position and the General Assembly unanimously agrees.

President-Elect: Ignaas Devisch, Stephan Sahm

For the position of President-elect there will be one ballot with the names of these two candidates.

Bio-sketches of the candidates are included with this letter.

On behalf of the Board,

Bert Gordijn Secretary of the ESPMH